Arts Leaders Program (2016-18): Australia Council

Building strong leaders to deliver a resilient, sustainable and vibrant arts sector.


This is a 18 month-long journey of leadership activities including three intensive residential meetings, workshops and a 5-week online course on arts leadership initiative that will stretch me intellectually and personally. It is an opportunity to engage with some of the most dynamic and influential leaders in Australia, exploring the issues and challenges that face the arts today. The Program explores new ways of working including: how organisations are run; how we create partnerships; engage with audiences, communities and stakeholders. Themes are curated throughout the program to build leadership, emotional & social intelligence, eminence, creativity & innovation for the benefit of the Australian Arts Sector.

Activities and reflections

Arts Leaders Dubbo, 2016

Residential 1 - Dubbo, Oct 2016
Western Plains Safari Zoo.

More information
Arts Leaders OReillys, 2017

Residential 2 - O'Reillys Retreat, Mar 2017
Lamington National Park.

Coming Soon
Black Sky Thinking, 2017

Black Sky Thinking, July 2017
Zoom Teleconference Workshop.

More information
Arts Leaders Spring Meet, 2017

Arts Leaders Spring Meet, Oct 2017
Australia Council for the Arts.

Coming Soon
Eminence Project, 2017

Eminence Project, Jan-Dec 2017
A peer-support profile building schema.

Coming Soon
Arts Leaders Hobart, 2018

Residential 3 - Hobart, Jan 2018
MONA Museum of Old & New Art.

Coming Soon

The Arts Leaders Program is an Australia Council for the Arts, Strategies and Frameworks initiative.

The Arts Leaders Program Cohort 2 includes: Todd MacDonald, Tandi Williams, Simon Abrahams, Sarah Tooth, Dr Sarah Jane Pell, Rita Pryce, Peter Kift, Patrick Nolan, Morwenna Collett, Mark Taylor, Lockie McDonald, Kyle Page, Kelly Doley, Kate Eltham, Julie Amos, Jonathan Parsons, Jade Lillie, Jacqui Uhlmann, Erin Milne, Emily Collins, Bridgette Van Leuven, Dr. Ben Knapton, Anna Reece, Amy Maiden, Ali Murphy-Oats, & Adam Tucker. Facilitators includes: Dr. Judith McLean and Kevin du Preez with support from visiting provocators, guest speakers, and the Australia Council.

⇐ Back to Residencies